HomeVisionStatement Of FaithArticlesPhoto GalleryEditor's NoteLinksContact

The Feasts Of The Lord

The Feasts of the Lord are God’s Prophetic Calendar for all mankind, and not just only for the Jews.

In Leviticus 23, seven feasts are outlined. They are more properly referred to as the Feasts of the Lord, and not the feasts of the Jews!

These feasts, in fact, are rehearsals or convocations for prophetic appointed times by God for the First Coming and Second Coming of the Messiah.

Some of the appointed times have been fulfilled, while some are yet to be realized. This is good reason enough for all Christians to pay close attention to these seven feasts.

What should we expect in the near future? The past will tell us! Knowledge, wisdom and revelation of a well-devised plan for the chronological events of Planet Earth are laid out and abbreviated in these 7 Feasts of the Lord.

All the drama unfolding in prophecy today and in the days to come has been hinted to us in these rehearsals for the end of time.

The covenant-keeping character of God is disclosed in the details of the Feasts, each one pointing us to a contact point on His schedule for the wrap-up of history.

It was in recent years that the significance and importance of the Feasts were rediscovered!

After the 3rd century AD, the formal church council of Rome passed laws forbidding church members to observe these seven Feasts. Since then, the Church had divorced herself from her Hebraic roots including these appointed times of the Lord.

Only in recent times are we seeing a desire to rediscover the Feasts of the Lord and to participate in the celebrations.

God calls the feasts "My appointed times" in Leviticus 23. He established special times and appointments to meet with us in a particular way to commemorate events in His dealings with man. His appointed times and feasts are God’s way to remind His people that He is the King of creation and the Ruler over time - past, present, and future.

When we celebrate His Feasts in the way that He ordained, He reinforces the relationship He had established with us, and honors His sovereignty over us.

The timing of the feasts is perfect and important. God is very specific on when and how we are to celebrate these events. The Jewish Calendar is used to calculate the dates of the Feasts. It is based on the lunar cycle, not the solar cycle used in the Gregorian or modern calendar.

The Seven Feasts are:

  • Passover
  • Unleavened Bread
  • Firstfruits
  • Pentecost
  • Trumpets
  • Day of Atonement
  • Tabernacles

Spring Feasts Former Rain First Coming of
Unleavened Bread
Outpouring of Holy Spirit Pentecost
Latter Rain Second Coming Of Jesus Trumpets
Day of Atonement

Feast Historical
Passover Israel’s deliverance out of Egypt Christ’s Death Salvation
Unleavened Bread From Egypt into the Red Sea Christ’s Burial Water Baptism
Firstfruits Coming out of the Red Sea Christ’s Resurrection Resurrected New Life
Pentecost Giving of the Law (Torah); Birth of the nation Giving of the Holy Spirit; Birth of the Church Baptism in Holy Spirit
Trumpets Call to possess the Promised Land Messiah as Deliverer Tribulation / Rapture
Atonement National cleansing and consecration Messiah as High Priest and Bridegroom Full Redemption
Tabernacles Possessing the Promised Land Messiah as King
(Millennial Reign)
Full Rest in God